Here It Goes

7 Oct

Hello to all the food lovers and enthusiasts! I’ve decided to get myself out there among all the foodies. I’ve been cooking and concocting since as long as I can remember. Being self-taught and always looking for new ideas, I figured this would be the best route to take. Bare with me for a little while since I just started this on here and I’m new to blogging. I can’t wait to share my taste and with everyone!

I have a deep passion for all things food. I love love love to cook and bake. I had the decision and chance to make my passion for cooking into a career but I decided against it. Cooking for me is a hobby and something I like to do on my own free time, for myself, friends, and family.

Cooking and baking, baking and cooking. I hate to say it, but I don’t have too much experience with more than beginner baking(brownies, simple cakes and cupcakes, pies, etc). I really want to learn how to do extravagant things like specialty cakes and really tough and extreme pastries and desserts; which is why I am enrolling in Le Cordon Bleu in Boston, MA.

My life long dream is to own my own bakery in the North Shore. I have the drive, passion, and commitment to make my dream become my reality. I want to really focus my attention on cake decorating and creating my own specialty cakes. So this Monday, I have an interview and viewing scheduled for Le Cordon Bleu. I finally decided to take the first step into changing my life and making it to where I want to be. Working full-time, I’ve been afraid to go back to school with the fear of working less which means a lower-income. I’m putting that fear aside and doing what I can to make myself happy, even if it means investing endless hours into something that can make others stomach-happy 🙂

As Julia Child said, “Noncooks think it’s silly to invest two hours’ work in two minutes’ enjoyment; but if cooking is evanescent, so is the ballet.”

3 Responses to “Here It Goes”

  1. Chef Dennis October 8, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    Congratulations on starting your blog and on your career choice! I expect to see great things from you on this blog!!

    • the mopey cook October 8, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

      Thank you so much! It really helps to have motivation from anyone and I hope I can deliver!

  2. Stephanie Russell October 9, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    I commend you for making such a courageous decision to just go for it and getting your learn on at culinary school. I too, just recently decided to switch careers and focus on all things food. Am loving it so far, as well! Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

